ImportantAlways be vigilent for false links, our wealth app can only be found here.
HQ DocsLedgercurrentSign in

Ledger › Tax by country › Cost-basis methods

Tax by country

Cost-basis methods

FIFO, average cost, share pooling, specific identification and France's portfolio formula: which method each country requires for crypto and shares.

Version
current
Updated
Reading time
9 min
Author
HQ FS
Last verifiedStatus
28-10-2026approved by the owner (accountant), 28-10-2026

Related article: hq-fs.com/blog/fifo-vs-lifo-for-crypto-taxes

Not tax advice. Rules summarised from official sources, linked where each rule is stated, as verified on the date above. Confirm with a qualified adviser before filing.

Methods explained#

All figures in the examples below are illustrative. They are not taken from any tax authority.

Every example uses the same trades in one token, held in one wallet unless stated:

DateEventUnitsPrice per unitTotal
01-01Buy (lot 1)1100100
01-03Buy (lot 2)1300300
01-06Sell1400400
15-06Buy (lot 3)1350350

The 15-06 buy matters only where a matching rule looks forward from the sale.

FIFO (first in, first out)#

The oldest units still held are treated as sold first.

StepFigure
Unit soldLot 1
Cost100
Gain400 − 100 = 300

Required or accepted in: US default, Ireland shares (Revenue, s.580 note for guidance), Germany securities in collective custody, South Africa (SARS draft crypto guide, IT3(c) clarification), Singapore, Australia fallback.

LIFO (last in, first out)#

The newest units held at the sale date are treated as sold first.

StepFigure
Unit soldLot 2
Cost300
Gain400 − 300 = 100

LIFO is listed only in the ATO share guidance. Singapore, South Africa trading stock and Indonesia inventory reject it by name.

Average cost (weighted average, ACB, PMP)#

Each unit carries the average cost of all units held. A sale does not change the average of the units left.

StepFigure
Average cost at the sale(100 + 300) ÷ 2 = 200
Cost200
Gain400 − 200 = 200
Average of the unit left200

Required in Canada (ACB, ITA s.47) and for French shares (PMP). Accepted in Singapore and, for value only, Germany crypto. Not available for South African crypto (SARS draft crypto guide, IT3(c) clarification).

Share pooling (UK same-day, 30-day, section 104)#

Matching order (CRYPTO22200, HS284): same-day acquisitions first, then acquisitions in the next 30 days, then the section 104 pool at average cost. The 30-day rule applies to gains and losses alike.

StepFigure
Same-day acquisitions on 01-06None
Acquisitions in the next 30 daysLot 3 (15-06), cost 350
Cost350
Gain400 − 350 = 50
Pool after 15-06Lots 1 and 2: 2 units, cost 400, 200 each
Gain if lot 3 had not been bought400 − 200 = 200 (pool cost)

Specific identification#

The taxpayer names the unit sold, if records show which unit it is (IRS FAQ, ATO share guidance, BMF letter).

Unit chosenCostGain
Lot 1100300
Lot 2300100

Choosing the highest-cost unit (HIFO) is one use of specific identification. The ATO share guidance lists HIFO by name.

France: portfolio formula (crypto)#

Gain = P − A × (P ÷ V) (Notice 2086, BOFiP). P is the sale price. A is the total price paid for all crypto the household ever acquired, less cost already used. V is the value of the whole household crypto portfolio just before the sale.

CasePAVGain
Household holds only this token (2 units worth 400 each)400400800400 − 400 × 0.5 = 200
Household also holds another token, cost 200, worth 2004006001,000400 − 600 × 0.4 = 160

Holdings of other tokens change the gain. No lot is identified.

Per-wallet pools#

The method runs inside each wallet or account, not across the whole portfolio. US from 01-01-2025. Germany crypto (Rz 62).

Same trades, but lot 1 sits on exchange A, lot 2 on exchange B, and the sale is from exchange B:

MethodCostGain
FIFO across all wallets100 (lot 1)300
FIFO per wallet (US 2025+, Germany)300 (lot 2)100
UK pool (one pool across all wallets)200200, or 50 with the 15-06 buy

Netherlands: Box 3 deemed return (no method)#

Box 3 taxes a deemed return on net wealth at 1 January. The sale on 01-06 is not a taxable event, so no cost basis applies.

ItemFigure
Gain on the sale for Box 3None computed
Tax baseValue of the holding on 1 January

Indonesia: final tax on gross value (no method)#

Crypto sales carry a final tax on the gross transaction value from 01-08-2025: 0.21% via a domestic platform, 1% via a foreign platform (PMK 50/2025).

ItemDomestic platformForeign platform
Base400400
Tax0.844.00
Cost usedNoneNone

Summary of the example#

MethodGain on the 01-06 sale
FIFO300
LIFO100
Average cost200
UK pooling (with 15-06 buy)50
UK pooling (without 15-06 buy)200
Specific identification100 or 300
France formula (one token held)200
Netherlands Box 3No gain computed
IndonesiaNo gain computed; tax on 400 gross

By country#

CountryCrypto methodShares methodPool scopeMatching rulesLIFO allowed
AustraliaNo method mandated for crypto by the ATO. Share guidance: specific identification where records allow; otherwise FIFOSpecific identification or FIFO; guidance also lists LIFO and HIFO; method may differ per parcel sold (TR 96/4)Per parcel; each crypto asset tracked separately—Shares: listed in ATO guidance. Crypto: not stated by the ATO
CanadaAdjusted cost base (average) across identical property, ITA s.47Same: ACB, ITA s.47All identical property the taxpayer holds (whole portfolio)Superficial loss, ITA s.54: 30 days before to 30 days after, includes affiliated persons, held at window end, denied loss added to ACB. Applies to crypto and sharesNo
FrancePortfolio formula, CGI art. 150 VH bisWeighted average price (PMP), CGI art. 150-0 D 3; mandatoryCrypto: whole household portfolio, all platforms and wallets. Shares: securities of the same nature; where they sit with several intermediaries, each may compute the average account by account as an administrative simplificationCrypto: noneNo
GermanySpecific identification first. If impossible: FIFO for the holding period; average cost for value, or FIFO as a simplification. Method fixed per token per wallet until that holding is sold out (Rz 61–62)FIFO for fungible securities in collective custody, §20 EStGCrypto: per wallet. Securities: per collective custodyCrypto: noneNo
IndonesiaNone needed. Final tax on gross value: 0.21% domestic, 1% foreign platform. Acquisition price still reported in the SPT asset listIDX-listed shares: 0.1% final tax on gross value, no cost basis. Business inventory: average or FIFO, no LIFO, change needs DJP approvalNot applicableNone foundNo (inventory)
IrelandNot stated by RevenueFIFO for shares of the same class, s.580(1)Shares: whole holding of the same classFour-week rule, s.581: a sale is matched first to shares bought in the 4 weeks before; a loss is restricted if re-bought within 4 weeks after. Covers spouses living togetherNo
NetherlandsNone. Box 3 deemed return on 1 January wealthNone. Same Box 3 regimeNot applicableNoneNot applicable
NigeriaNot prescribed by the NTA. Gain computed in USD per acquisition, USD gain converted at the CBN/NAFEM rate on the sale date——None identified—
SingaporeOnly where a gain is taxable (trading): FIFO or weighted average (para 5.7)No capital gains tax—None foundNo
South AfricaCapital account: specific identification or FIFO. Weighted average not available. Trading stock: any method except LIFOSpecific identification, FIFO or weighted average for SA-listed sharesIdentical assets (para 32(2))Paragraph 42: loss disregarded if an identical asset is acquired within 45 days before or after; applies to crypto; includes connected personsNo
SwitzerlandNone for private investors (gains exempt). Professional traders: follows commercial bookkeeping; no rule foundNone for private investors (gains exempt, Art. 16 para. 3 DBG)Not applicableNone—
United KingdomSame-day (s105), then next 30 days (s106A), then s104 pool at average cost. NFTs not pooledSame order, TCGA 1992Crypto: one pool per token type across all platforms and wallets. Shares: one pool per company and classSame-day; 30-day forward only, gains and lossesNo
United StatesSpecific identification if adequately identified; otherwise FIFO (FAQ 39–41). Average cost not listedSpecific identification or FIFO; average basis only for fund (RIC) shares and dividend reinvestment plansCrypto: per wallet or account from 01-01-2025. Shares: per lot; average basis per accountWash sale (§1091): 30 days before or after, stock and securities only; not cryptoNot as a method. Specific identification can select the newest lot

Effect on a FIFO ledger#

CountryDoes a FIFO lot ledger give the right tax figure?What must be computed in addition
AustraliaYes, where specific units cannot be identified50% discount for units held 12 months or more; market value at 01-07-2027 per lot for the reform
CanadaNoACB average per identical property; superficial loss per s.54 on crypto and shares, with the denied loss added to ACB; 50% inclusion
FranceNoCrypto: P, A and V for the whole household at each sale. Shares: PMP per security
GermanyOnly for crypto where FIFO is run per wallet, and for securities in collective custodyPer-wallet lot queues and the method chosen per token per wallet; FIFO holding period even where average cost sets value
IndonesiaNot applicable: no gain is taxedGross value per sale by platform type: 0.21% or 1% (PMK 50/2025); 0.1% on IDX share sales (PwC summary)
IrelandYes for sharesFour-week rule: match sales to shares bought in the prior 4 weeks first, and restrict losses on re-buys within 4 weeks after
NetherlandsNo. FIFO gains are not the tax baseNet wealth at 1 January for Box 3; year-start and year-end values plus the year's purchases and sales for the actual-return route
NigeriaMethod not prescribedUSD cost per lot; USD gain converted at the CBN/NAFEM rate on the sale date
SingaporeYes, for taxable (trading) gains; capital gains are not taxedBlock LIFO
South AfricaYes on capital account: FIFO is allowed (IT3(c) clarification)Paragraph 42 45-day rule on crypto and shares; one annual exclusion per person
SwitzerlandNot applicable for private investors: gains exemptProfessional-trader test; cantonal wealth tax on 31 December holdings
United KingdomNoSame-day, then next 30 days, then s104 pool per token across all wallets, for crypto and shares (CRYPTO22200, ICAEW, HS284)
United StatesOnly for FIFO run per wallet or account from 01-01-2025, with no specific identificationPer-wallet basis allocation as at 01-01-2025; specific identification where elected (Notice 2025-7, Notice 2026-20); wash sale for securities only
Was this page helpful?